If A Tree Falls In The Forest….

There’s an old saying “What if you held a party, and nobody came?”

I guess you’d call that a Soul Patrol Convention.

<So, I guess I’m new to this whole “Soul Patrol” thing. And I just don’t get it.

I’ve spent the last week, reading various boards and blogs. I still don’t get it.

I don’t understand the investment that people have with someone they’ve never met. I don’t understand why people believe that they should have input and/or judgement in what someone else decides what they should do with their career or their life.

I don’t understand why people feel that they have to be the ones that “know” it all. That they, and they alone, “know” what someone meant by a phrase, by a word, by a look.

Let’s flip this around. You are now the focus of this attention. You are now that person.

What are you going to do tomorrow? When you get up in the morning and dress for the day, do you realize that people are going to report on your outfit and decide whether or not you should have picked that to wear. Do you want to go on-line and read that people are “thudding” over your choice of shirt.

After you’re dressed, you decide what you’re going to do for breakfast. Do you dare go out in public to a restaurant? If you do, they’ll either follow you from your home, or accidentally stumble across you. They’ll report on what you ordered, they’ll report on who you were with, they’ll report on what kind of tip you left.

Breakfast is over. What’s next? It’s early yet, but you have to make your choices carefully. If you go to the grocery store, to stock your cabinets/fridge, so you can actually cook breakfast at home, you will probably be followed. Again, reports will be made to everyone on the items in your grocery cart.

It’s lunchtime. Do you really want a repeat of what happened at breakfast? Skip lunch.

Afternoon. You need to run some errands, because it’s not as if you have a full staff at home that takes care of things for you. But what might be a normal 10 minute run to the dry cleaners turns into 45 minutes, because you have to make nice with anyone who might recognize you and make sure that they get that picture for “Aunt Peg”.

So it’s taken 5 hours to run errands that would take a normal person maybe 2 hours to complete.

It’s Saturday night. You have a date. It’s someone you just met, and would like to get to know better. Do you dare go out in public, to a nice dinner? Do you risk being approached, being photographed? Does that person realize that if anyone sees you, that she will become a topic of conversation by many. Is she ready for all of this? Is it worth it?

Sounds like a fun life, doesn’t it?

May 16, 2008. Tags: . Uncategorized.

17 Comments

  1. esmarelda replied:

    I agree with a lot of what you said mfasses. I’m part of the SP and have been since the very beginning and there are a lot of things I love about the Soul Patrol and the way they support Taylor. The part that’s hard for me is when people try to run his life and his career. I support fully the choices that Taylor is making right now in his career and can’t imagine abandoning him or dissing him because he makes a choice that isn’t my first choice. This isn’t to say that I don’t think people should be able to express an opinion if they aren’t 100% positive but when you say it in bashing terms like “he’s not the artist I thought he was. Not anywhere near it.” it pisses me off to no end. I say leave then and quit bitching about it. There’s my rant for the day.

    About the thudding, I can’t say anything about that because I’ve thudded over every shirt, tee shirt, jacket, jeans, shorts, suit, suit pants, hair cut, shoes etc… he’s ever been seen in. He just looks great no matter what he wears. He’s one of the few men who could wear a pototo sack and still look incredibly HOT. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. makingfunofyourasses replied:

    If it’s ranting that you want to do, you’ve come to the right place ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m not a thudder, it’s just not me, at least not from pictures of people I don’t know. Now introduce me to a real live in the flesh hot guy with a great personality, and that’s a whole ‘nother story. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. chill replied:

    Is the word thud in the dictionary? Just curious. It’s 8 a.m., Saturday morning, and I’m on my way to work, too lazy to look for it right now.

  4. chill replied:

    And I mean other than the traditional definition. Because I think this word thud has different meanings to different people. I mean, I can look at a picture of Taylor and think to myself, oh my god he looks great, but the word thud doesn’t come to mind. haha

  5. esmarelda replied:

    Chill the word thud is in the dictionary.

    thud

    thudยทded, thudยทding.
    โ€“noun 1. a dull sound, as of a heavy blow or fall.
    2. a blow causing such a sound.

    so this is the sound of us hitting the floor after we swoon

    โ€“verb (used without object) 1. to faint; lose consciousness.
    2. to enter a state of hysterical rapture or ecstasy: The teenagers (or adults) swooned at the sight of the singing star.
    โ€“noun 3. a faint or fainting fit; syncope.

    ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Sunny replied:

    I’m with you, M’Asses, the whole ‘thud’ concept over photographs, that just flies right by me.

    I was never one of those tweenie girls who had posters up in my bedroom of teen heart throbs either.

  7. makingfunofyourasses replied:

    Mine were covered with pictures of animals.

    I guess I do thud if it’s a really cute puppy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. henry8 replied:

    Somehow, I missed this blog. I’m cracking up.
    I never had a picture or a poster either, never belonged to a fan club.
    And I really fell in love with Taylors voice and missed it so when he left my tv I had to look for it. Now I have a ton of stuff and can’t wait for more.
    But Good Lord, people, have you really looked at some of those pictures of Taylor, there is just something about him that jumps right out of the picture at you and makes you go WOW! Surely you see it sometimes.

  9. henry8 replied:

    Oh, and all that other stuff, people following you and such. I wouldn’t like it, but if they are not paying attention to you it probably means you aren’t doing very well so its something that must be tolerated. I guess.
    And it seems that there are an awlful lot of people activly seeking that kind of attention, so heres hoping they do enjoy it.

  10. makingfunofyourasses replied:

    henry8, I guess we’re just different. I see a picture and think “Okay, he’s good looking or she’s very pretty”. But that’s it.

    We’re all different, we react to things in our own way. Nothing wrong with you, nothing wrong with me. It’s just different, that’s all.

    I mean, think about it. There are people out there that think Daughtry’s hot! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. henry8 replied:

    Oh yes, I know. And even tho Daughtry is not my cup of tea, I can understand what others see. Some think the rock David is hot and he kind of weirds me out with his little short arms and strange hair. To each his own.
    But with Taylor, its not just looks. Its attitude. See if you can see what I mean. When I see this picture of Taylor I might say Hey, hes pretty good looking.

    But when I look at this one, its the whole very sensual attitude that I see and its sometimes makes my jaw drop.
    And its the attitude I’m talking about not anything else ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. esmarelda replied:

    I better not talk about my walls when I was a teenager. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  13. esmarelda replied:

    Henry8 does this quality as a thudworthy attitude? ๐Ÿ˜›

  14. esmarelda replied:

    Henry I meant qualify not quality. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. henry8 replied:

    Yes, esme it most certainly does. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. henry8 replied:

    I’m thinking hes fair to middlin good lookin here, I swear thats all I’m thinkin.

    We could entertain ourselves all night like this esme, but asses is probably gonna kill us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. chill replied:

    hahaha!! It’s a funny word, isn’t it? Thud. haha!! Now that I’m thinking about it, I think I’ve thudded over quite a few pair of shoes too. The thudding is what made me buy them.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI